Skip to main content

Writing Committee

The Writing Committee will provide oversight of the Writing learning objective of the general education curriculum, including but not limited to the Writing-Intensive requirement. The Committee will collaborate with the Writing Center to provide resources and support for faculty integrating writing into their courses, including ongoing faculty-development workshops. The Committee will make itself available to develop workshops. The Committee will make itself available to review syllabi for general education courses that include writing as a learning objective, and will work with faculty and departments to support successful implementation. The Committee will engage in an on-going review of the Writing learning objective, and will recommend changes as appropriate to promote success in student writing University-wide.

*Denotes chairs

 Heide Estes Humanities and Social Sciences June 30, 2023
School Representatives
 Michaeline (Mickey) Skiba Business June 30, 2023
Ellen Doss-Pepe Science June 30, 2023
TBD Humanities and Social Sciences June 30, 2023
*Maria Hrycenko Nursing & Health Studies June 30, 2022
Jason Fitzgerald Education June 30, 2022
Jeanne Koller Social Work June 30, 2023
Frank Fury Writing Center N/A
Christine Forbes Library June 30, 2023
*TBD Graduate Program Director June 30, 2022
Vacant (to be filled Sept 2021) Student tutor N/A

Membership includes the Director of First Year Composition and the Associate Director of First Year Composition, a faculty elected from each school and the library and an at-large faculty representative, a director of a graduate program, the Writing Services Director, the Director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, and one representative from the student tutors of writing services.