Close Close

General Education Oversight Committee

The committee will be responsible for oversight of the general education curriculum and its assessment. The committee will receive, review, and act upon annual outcomes assessment reports on the particular areas of the general education program from the General Education Area Committees. The committee will monitor trends in the best practice of general education, and recommend improvements to the university’s curriculum accordingly.

At Large
Meg Forney – ChairCriminal JusticeJune 30, 2025
School Representatives
Polina AmburgNursing & Health StudiesJune 30, 2025
Mikail SherBusinessJune 30, 2025
Michelle SchpakowEducationJune 30, 2027
Tom CareyHumanities & Social Sciences, Area IIJune 30, 2026
Patrick LoveHumanities & Social Sciences, Area IJune 30, 2027
Weihao QuScienceJune 30, 2026
Colleen BeachSocial WorkJune 30, 2026

One appointed faculty member from the University Writing Committee (designated by the Writing Committee).  Three non-voting ex officio members: Director of Assessment; Director of Transfer Student Services and Undeclared Services; and a representative of the Office of the Provost designated to support GEOC.

There are seven GEOC Area Committees:

Area I: English Composition & Literature

  • Shannon Hokanson, Chair, SHSS I
  • Joe Torchia, Specialist (LIT), English (June 30, 2024)
  • Linda Sacks, Specialist (COMP), English (June 30, 2025)

Area II: History, Social Sciences, Aesthetics

  • Meg Forney, Chair (June 30, 2025)
  • Hillary DelPrete, Specialist (SS), History/Anthropology (June 30, 2024)
  • Wobbe Koning, Specialist (AT), Art & Design (June 30, 2025)
  • Bill Gorman, Specialist (HS), History (June 30, 2025)

Area III: CD, GU, World Languages

  • Colleen Beach, Chair
  • Julia Riordan-Goncalves, Specialist (WL), World Language & Cultures (June 30, 2025)
  • Manuel Chavez, Specialist (CD), Anthropology (June 30, 2025)
  • Adam Heinrich, Specialist (GU), Anthropology (June 30, 2024)


  • Stephanie Bobbitt, Chair. Education
  • Robyn Holmes, Specialist, ISP (June 30, 2025)
  • TBD

Area V: Biology, Chemistry/Sciences, Mathematics

  • Polina Amburg, Chair, Nursing
  • Karen Pesce, Specialist (NS), Biology (June 30, 2024)
  • Torrey Gallagher, Specialist (MA), Mathematics (June 30, 2025)

Area VI: ROD, Technological Literacy

  • Mikhail Sher, Chair, Management and Leadership
  • Kiameesha (Kim) Evans, Specialist, Health Studies (June 30, 2024)
  • Michael Phillips-Anderson, Specialist (RD), Communication (June 30, 2025)

Area VII: Experiential Education

  • Tom Carey, Chair, Criminal Justice
  • Jamie Goodwin-Uhler, Member, Psychology (June 30, 2024)
  • TBD
  • Danielle Schrama (Ex Officio)

Each of the Area Committees will be responsible for general education course approvals in the specified area. They will coordinate with GEOC and faculty who teach courses in their area to agree upon which curricular goal or goals they will review for their annual reports.

The Experiential Education committee will focus on oversight of the Ex-Ed requirement and assess how well students in the various majors are meeting it. The subcommittee will have one member of the Center for Student Success serving on an ex-officio non-voting basis. This committee will work, as necessary, with the appropriate academic schools and departments to make changes in ex-ed requirements and policy. The chair will sign off on student approvals to take Ex-Ed options (internships, cooperative education, study abroad, etc.)

The Writing Committee will review and approve courses in the Writing Intensive area.