Close Close

Past Honorees

Leadership Excellence Award Recipients

The Leadership Excellence Award recognizes the interdependent relationship between Monmouth University and the real estate industry. The award is conferred annually upon an outstanding individual for his or her distinctive contributions to the state of New Jersey and the nation through a career in real estate.

  • 2022
    Peter J. Cocoziello
    Founder & CEO
    Advance Realty Investors
  • 2019
    Ralph Zucker
    Somerset Development, LLC
  • 2018
    Eric Dinenberg
    Executive Vice President
    Development, Construction and Operations
    Rouse Properties
  • 2017
  • 2016
    Jan Kokes
    The Kokes Organization
  • 2015
    Murray Kushner and The KRE Group
  • 2014
    Ronald S. Ladell
    Senior Vice President
    AvalonBay Communities
  • 2013
    Joseph Macnow
    Executive Vice President &
    Chief Financial Officer
    Vornado Realty Trust
  • 2012
    Joseph S. Taylor
    President & CEO
    Matrix Development Group
  • 2011
    Jay I. Kislak
    The Kislak Organization
  • 2010
    John A. Giunco, Esq.
    Chairman, Real Estate, Land Use & Development
    Giordano, Halleran & Ciesla, PC

    Peter S. Reinhart, Esq.
    Senior Vice President & General Counsel
    Hovnanian Enterprises, Inc.
  • 2009
    Peter J. Riguardi
    President, New York Region
    Jones Lang LaSalle
  • 2008
    Carl J. Goldberg
    Managing Partner
    Roseland Property Company
  • 2007
    Charles F. Lowrey
    Chief Executive Officer
    Prudential Real Estate Investors
  • 2006
    Emanuel Stern
    Chief Operating Officer
    Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc.
  • 2005
    Ara Hovnanian
    President and CEO
    Hovnanian Enterprises, Inc.
  • 2004
    Patrick Murphy
    Executive Managing Director
    NY Tri-State Suburban Markets
    CB Richard Ellis
  • 2003
    John A. Somers
    Executive Vice President
    TIAA Investments
  • 2002
    Mitchell E. Hersh
    Chief Executive Officer
    Mack-Cali Realty Corporation
  • 2001
    Stephen B. Siegel HN’03
    Global Chairman
    Brokerage Services
    CB Richard Ellis
  • 2000
    Alan B. Landis
    The Landis Group
  • 1999
    Charles Klatskin
    Chairman & CEO
  • 1998
    Benedict J. Torcivia, Sr.
    Chairman & CEO
    Torcon, Inc.
  • 1997
    Anne Evans Estabrook
    Elberon Development Co.
  • 1996
    Steven J. Pozycki ’73
    Chairman & CEO
    SJP Properties
  • 1995
    Kevork S. Hovnanian
    Chairman & CEO
    K. Hovnanian Enterprises, Inc.
  • 1994
    Arthur M. Greenbaum, Esq., HN ’96
    Greenbaum, Rowe, Smith, Ravin, Davis & Himmel, LLC

Service to the Industry Award Recipients

The Service to the Industry Award is given occasionally to an individual or organization who has provided exceptional service and support in advocacy, education or other services to the real estate industry.

  • 2019
    Anthony L. Marchetta
    ALM Consulting Group, LLC
  • 2017
    Michael G. McGuinness
    Chief Executive Officer
    NAIOP, New Jersey

    Carol Ann Short, Esq.
    Chief Executive Officer
    NJ Builders Association
  • 2016
    Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno
    State of New Jersey
  • 2015
    James W. Hughes, Ph.D.
    Dean, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
    Rutgers University
  • 2014
    Caren Franzini
    Franzini Consulting, LLC
  • 2013
    Donald M. Moliver, Ph.D., CRE, MAI
    Dean, Leon Hess Business School
    Pozycki Professor of Real Estate
    Monmouth University
  • 2012
    Ted Zangari, Esq.
    Chair, Redevelopment Law and Public Policy Practice Groups
    Sills Cummis & Gross, PC