Skip to main content
COVID-19 Update: University offices are open but being staffed remotely. Classes will be conducted remotely for all summer sessions.


Dr. Kenneth E. and Ilamae R. Knapp Endowed Scholarship Recognizes Academic Excellence and Student Leadership

Dr. Kenneth Knapp—founding faculty member and former Chair of the Communication Department—established the Kenneth E. and Ilamae R. Knapp Endowed Scholarship to recognize annually outstanding students in the communication department who demonstrated excellence in oral performance, leadership in and beyond the classroom, and significant academic achievement. Since its inception in 2001, more than 50 scholarships have been awarded.

Merit awards (up to $3,000) are awarded to encourage promising Communication students to continue pursuing academic excellence and to expand their student leadership and extracurricular participation beyond the classroom. Scholarships (above $3,000) are awarded to recognize sustained excellence in performance, academic achievement, and student leadership in and beyond the classroom. Awards are announced and gifted at the annual Communication Department awards banquet, held at the end of each spring semester.

For consideration, a student must be a full-time student at Monmouth University, as well as a Communication major. The student must have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average and be classified as a sophomore, junior, or senior for the scholarship year of funding. Most importantly, the student must demonstrate excellence in oral performance, either onstage, at the podium, on the air, or on camera. The award is applied evenly to the fall and spring semester bills. Outstanding students may be awarded multiple years.

** Active participation in communication-based student groups such as “CommWorks: Students Committed to Performance,” WMCX (MU’s student-run radio station), Hawk TV (MU’s student-run TV station), PRSSA (Public Relations Society of America), The Outlook (MU’s student-run newspaper), The Verge, and/or MOCC (Monmouth Oral Communication Center) is encouraged.

Previous Knapp Scholarship Award Recipients:


Kelly Anderson

Emily Blaser

Matthew DeLuca

Najah Pryor

Ryan Waldis


Alexa Antonelli

Emily Blaser

Haley Gasparine

Bryce Rose Petraccoro

David Robson

Najah Pryor

Glen DeNigris

Sophia Parola


Nicholas Carlascio

Robert Davies

Julian Garcia

Courtney Moore

Michael Trapasso

Jillian Young



Fabiana Buontempo

Marissa Cornford

Alexa De Rosa

Katelyn Milazzo

Alexis Morrison

Rachel Gramuglia

Amy Maginnis

Brianna Merriman

Adam Young


Fabiana Buontempo

Courtney Carr

Brianna Merriman

Joseph DeAngelis

Jacqueline DiPasquale



John Blair

Megan Pereira

Yvette Halawani

Anna Chamberlain

Nick Sommons

Caroline Anzarouth


Katelyn Nawoyski

Jonathan Warhol

Veronica Yurowski

Anna Chamberlain

Joe Beselinoff

Yvette Halawani

Danielle Branco

// //