Close Close

2009 Student Research Conference Winners

Dean’s Award of Excellence in Undergraduate Research


Ruth Adekunle (left) and Julia Arpino

First Place

Ruth O. Adekunle and
Julia Francesca Arpino

Abstract: E-cadherin Expression in Subconfluent and Confluent Fibroblast Cells

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Dorothy Lobo


Dr. Michael Palladino (left), Rebecca Tyson, and
Anoop Shah

Second Place

Anoop B. Shah and
Rebecca L. Tyson

Abstract: Identifying Target Genes for Hypoxia-Inducible Factor-1 in the Testis

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Michael A. Palladino


Darsi Pitchon (left), Michelle Zook, and
Dr. Dennis Rhoads

Third Place (Tie)

Darsi Pitchon and Michelle Lynn Zook

Abstract: Caffeine and Adenosine Receptor Expression as Modifiers of Adolescent Alcohol Dependency

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Dennis E. Rhoads


Michael Slisz (left), Marian Gaballah, and Mary Grace Baker

Mary Grace Baker, Marian Gaballah, and Michael J. Slisz

Abstract: Contact Inhibition Alters the
JNK-1 Stress Response

Faculty Mentor: Dr. Dorothy Lobo