Skip to main content

Department of English

The Sigma Tau Delta seal


Prof. Beth Sara Swanson

Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society. The name comes from the first (Greek) letters that begin our official motto, “Sincerity, Truth, Design.” The Monmouth University chapter, known officially as the Delta Sigma chapter, was founded in 1983 under the direction of Dr. Prescott Evarts. Its main objectives:

  • To confer distinction
  • To promote interest in literature and the English language
  • To foster the discipline of literary studies
  • To promote good citizenship
  • To exhibit high standards of academic excellence

Through its activities on and off campus, the Delta Sigma chapter of Sigma Tau Delta encourages camaraderie and professional development among its members, as well as service to the University and local communities.

The national organization was founded in 1924 by Dr. Judson Q. Owen. The society was created to “confer distinction upon outstanding students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies.”

The official flower of the organization is the red rose. The colors are red and black.

Although membership in Sigma Tau Delta is offered annually to English majors who have demonstrated superior achievement both in general academics and in literary studies, the society’s activities are open to all University students, faculty, and staff. Interested students should contact a faculty advisor in the English Department.



Image of Sigma Tau Delta Graduates - Part 1 - click or tap to view list of graduates
Sigma Tau Delta list of graduates - Click or tap to view part 2 Sigma Tau Delta list of graduates part 3 - click or tap to view list of graduatesCongratulations to our Sigma Tau Delta Graduates!


Photo shows Induction Ceremony invitation: Click or tap to for detailed view

The Delta Sigma Chapter held its’ annual Induction Ceremony on April 16, 2021. Congratulations to our 15 new members!



 2020-2021 Student Executive Board:

Melissa Lauria
Vice President:
Gabriella Arabio
Catie Mazzella
Judith Shingledecker
Director of Philanthropy:
Kristina Bonadonna
Director of Public Relations:
Jenna Ciancimino