Close Close

Sigma Tau Delta Honor Society

The Sigma Tau Delta seal

Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society. The name comes from the first (Greek) letters that begin our official motto, “Sincerity, Truth, Design.” The Monmouth University chapter, known officially as the Delta Sigma chapter, was founded in 1983 under the direction of Dr. Prescott Evarts. Its main objectives:

  • To confer distinction
  • To promote interest in literature and the English language
  • To foster the discipline of literary studies
  • To promote good citizenship
  • To exhibit high standards of academic excellence

Through its activities on and off campus, the Delta Sigma chapter of Sigma Tau Delta encourages camaraderie and professional development among its members, as well as service to the University and local communities.

The national organization was founded in 1924 by Dr. Judson Q. Owen. The society was created to “confer distinction upon outstanding students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies.”

The official flower of the organization is the red rose. The colors are red and black.

Although membership in Sigma Tau Delta is offered annually to English majors who have demonstrated superior achievement both in general academics and in literary studies, the society’s activities are open to all University students, faculty, and staff. Interested students should contact a faculty advisor in the English Department.


Dr. Courtney Werner (Interim Advisor, Fall 2022)

Prof. Beth Sara Swanson

2022-2023 Student Executive Board

President: Kathryn HawkenberrySecretary/Treasurer: Allianna Makowski
Vice President: Valerie Aristy-ReyesPhilanthropy and PR: Jennifer Rivera


Congratulations to our new Sigma Tau Delta members.
Congratulations to our new Sigma Tau Delta members: Felicia Abline, Barbara Coleman, Grace Cotogno, Dorothy Doyle, Charlotte Edwards, Erin Fowler, Liza Gordon, Allie Gorenc, Debora Graas, Anna Huber, Meadow Magnani, Kalysta Mango, Megan McCafferty, Anaiza Medina, Carlee Migliorisi, Moriah Roof, Matthew Rossetti, and Nashaviyah Steward.