Close Close

English Proficiency Requirements

English Proficiency Requirements

Applicants whose native language is not English must provide proof of English proficiency and have official results sent directly to Monmouth University (code 2416). Official test scores must be sent to us directly from the testing center. Photocopies cannot be used. One of the following requirements must be met:

  • TOEFL (Test Of English as a Foreign Language) A minimum of 550 on the paper-based TOEFL; 213 on the computer-based test; and 79 on the Internet-based test. For test locations please visit
  • IELTS (International English Language Testing System) A minimum score of 6.0 is required.
  • CAE (Certificate of Advanced English) A minimum score is B2 is required.
  • MELAB (Michigan English Language Assessment Battery) A minimum score is 77 is required.
  • Duolingo English Test A minimum score of 105 is required.
ESL School Partnerships Acceptance Level
Kaplan Advanced Level
Zoni Intensive English Program, Advanced Level Course
Rennert Upper-high Intermediate Level
ILSC A1, A2, and A3
Global ESL Academy Advanced Level Academic Program
ELS Level 112
TALK International University Placement Level 9 Program
Bridge Language Centers English Level C1
Converse International School of Language English for Academic Program (EAP)
EF-Education First Level C1-1
ELI Advanced Level
New York Language Upper-Intermediate Level
Universal English Center TOEFL Exam
OHLA (Open Heart Language Academy) Advanced 2
ELC Upper Advanced (combined score of 1000 or greater)
Third Party Examinations Acceptance Level
TOEFL Internet- 79
Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE) 55
TOEIC Listening/Reading: 700; Speaking / Writing: 7 or 270
ITEP 3.7-3.9

TOEFL Requirements by Country

  Official Language English Proficiency Required
Afghanistan Dari, Pashto Yes
Albania Albanian Yes
Algeria Arabic Yes
Andorra Catalan Yes
Angola Portuguese Yes
Antigua & Barbuda English No
Argentina Spanish Yes
Armenia Armenian Yes
Aruba Dutch Yes
Australia English No
Austria German Yes
Azerbaijan Azerbaijani Yes
Bahamas English No
Bahrain Arabic Yes
Bangladesh Bengali/Bangla Yes
Barbados English No
Belarus Belarusian & Russian Yes
Belgium Dutch, French, German Yes
Belize English No
Benin French Yes
Bermuda English No
Bhutan Dzongka Yes
Bolivia Spanish Yes
Bosnia & Herzegovina Bosnian Yes
Botswana English No
Brazil Portuguese Yes
Brunei Darassalam Malay Yes
Bulgaria Bulgarian Yes
Burkino Faso French Yes
Burma Burmese Yes
Burundi Kirundi/French Yes
Cambodia Khmer Yes
Cameroon French & English Yes
Canada English, French No
Cape Verde Portuguese Yes
Cayman Islands English No
Central African Republic French Yes
Chad French & Arabic Yes
Chile Spanish Yes
China Mandarin Chinese Yes
Colombia Spanish Yes
Comoros Shikomoro, Arabic, French Yes
Congo, Democratic Republic of French Yes
Congo, Republic of French Yes
Costa Rica Spanish Yes
Cote d’Ivoire French Yes
Croatia Croatian Yes
Cuba Spanish Yes
Cyprus Greek, Turkish, English Yes
Czech Republic Czech Yes
Denmark Danish Yes
Djibouti French & Arabic Yes
Dominica English No
Dominican Republic Spanish Yes
East Timor Portuguese Yes
Ecuador Spanish Yes
Egypt Arabic Yes
El Salvador Spanish Yes
Equatorial Guinea Spanish Yes
Eritrea Tigrinya & Tigre Yes
Estonia Estonian Yes
Ethiopia Amharic Yes
Fiji English Yes
Finland Finnish Yes
France French Yes
Gabon French Yes
Gambia English No
Georgia Georgian Yes
Germany German Yes
Ghana English No
Greece Greek Yes
Grenada English No
Guatemala Spanish Yes
Guinea French Yes
Guinea-Bissau Portuguese Yes
Guyana English No
Haiti French Yes
Holy See, The Italian Yes
Honduras Spanish Yes
Hong Kong Cantonese Yes
Hungary Hungarian (Magyar) Yes
Iceland Icelandic Yes
India Hindi Yes
Indonesia Indonesian Yes
Iran Persian Yes
Iraq Arabic Yes
Ireland English No
Israel Hebrew Yes
Italy Italian Yes
Jamaica English No
Japan Japanese Yes
Jordan Arabic Yes
Kazakhstan Kazakh/Russian Yes
Kenya English No
Kiribati English No
Kuwait Arabic Yes
Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyz, Russian Yes
Laos Lao Yes
Latvia Latvian Yes
Lebanon Arabic Yes
Lesotho Sesotho & English Yes
Liberia English No
Libya Arabic Yes
Liechtenstein German Yes
Lithuania Lithuanian Yes
Luxembourg Luxembourgish, French, German Yes
Macau Portuguese & Chinese Yes
Macedonia Macedonian Yes
Madagascar Malagasy Yes
Malawi English No
Malaysia Malay Yes
Maldives Dhivehi Yes
Mali French Yes
Malta Maltese Yes
Marshall Islands Marshallese Yes
Mauritania Arabic Yes
Mexico Spanish Yes
Mauritius French & English Yes
Micronesia English No
Moldova Romanian Yes
Mongolia Khalkha Mongol Yes
Monoco French Yes
Morocco Arabic Yes
Mozambique Portuguese Yes
Namibia English No
Nauru Nauruan, English Yes
Nepal Nepali Yes
Netherlands Dutch Yes
Netherlands Antilles Dutch Yes
New Zealand English No
Nicaragua Spanish Yes
Niger French Yes
Nigeria English No
North Korea Korean Yes
Norway Norwegian Yes
Oman Arabic Yes
Pakistan Urdu Yes
Palau English No
Panama Spanish Yes
Papua New Guinea English No
Paraguay Spanish Yes
Peru Spanish Yes
Philippines Pilipino Yes
Poland Polish Yes
Portugal Portuguese Yes
Qatar Arabic Yes
Romania Romanian Yes
Russia Russian Yes
Rwanda French Yes
Samoa Samoan, English Yes
San Marino Italian Yes
Sao Tome and Principe Portuguese Yes
Saudi Arabia Arabic Yes
Senegal French Yes
Serbia and Montenegro Serbo-Croatian Yes
Seychelles Creole, English & French Yes
Sierra Leone English No
Singapore English No
Slovakia Slovak Yes
Slovenia Slovenia Yes
Solomon Islands English No
Somalia Somali Yes
South Africa Afrikaans, English No
South Korea Korean Yes
Spain Spanish Yes
Sri Lanka Sinhala & Tamil Yes
St Kitts & Nevis English No
St Lucia English No
St Vincent & the Grenadines English No
Sudan Arabic Yes
Suriname Dutch Yes
Swaziland Siswati & English Yes
Sweden Swedish Yes
Switzerland German, French, Italian, Romansch Yes
Syria Arabic Yes
Taiwan Mandarin Chinese Yes
Tajikistan Tajik Yes
Tanzania Kiswahili Yes
Thailand Thai Yes
Togo French Yes
Tonga Tongan, English Yes
Trinidad & Tobago English No
Tunisia Arabic Yes
Turkey Turkish Yes
Turkmenistan Turkmen Yes
Tuvalu Tuvuluan, English Yes
Uganda English No
Ukraine Ukrainian Yes
United Arab Emirates Arabic Yes
United Kingdom English No
Uruguay Spanish Yes
Uzbekistan Uzbek Yes
Vanuatu Bislama, English Yes
Venezuela Spanish Yes
Vietnam Vietnamese Yes
Yemen Arabic Yes
Zambia English No
Zimbabwe English No