Close Close
Dean Henning at Academic Welcome for School of Ed in 2019

CAEP Honors for School of Education

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced on Oct. 15 that Monmouth University’s School of Education was one of nine national educator preparation providers selected for 2020 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement honors.  The recognition is granted to institutions that were granted accreditation by CAEP at the initial level the previous year, and subsequently provided evidence and demonstrated data trends with no stipulations or areas for improvement.

“Going through the CAEP accreditation process with an unblemished record is a tremendous accomplishment,” said John Henning, dean of the School of Education.  “To do so, a teacher preparation program must be outstanding from top to bottom. Kudos to the School of Education faculty and staff for their relentless pursuit of excellence,” he said.

The CAEP accreditation process evaluates the performance of providers and focuses particularly on whether teacher candidates will be prepared, by completion, for the challenging responsibilities that educators face in America’s classrooms. Approximately, 700 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards. CAEP is the only educator preparation provider recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

“The providers that CAEP is recognizing are committed to continuous improvement and preparing their students to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said Karen Symms Gallagher, chair of the CAEP board of directors. “CAEP Accreditation is a sign of commitment to quality through purposeful use of evidence. The Murray Leadership Recognition recipients should be proud of their accomplishments,” she said.

CAEP President Chris Koch added, “These recipients reflect the creativity that CAEP affords in achieving excellence, by meeting the standards in a variety of ways, for the diverse populations they serve.”

The Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement is named for the founding president of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and TEAC. Murray was a key advocate for a single set of teacher preparation standards to unify the profession and was instrumental in the merger that created CAEP. He also served as the dean of the College of Education at the University of Delaware from 1979 to 1995.