Skip to main content

Department of English

Editorial Policies

All queries about general topic issues should be sent to:

Kristin Bluemel, Editor
The Space Between
Department of English
Monmouth University
West Long Branch, NJ 07764

The Space Between is a refereed, interdisciplinary journal on literature and culture that emphasizes research on lesser-known writers and understudied arts and issues of the period 1914-1945, including literary and cultural responses to the First and Second World Wars.

The Space Between will publish reviews on books that represent various disciplines’ approaches to the culture of the space between the wars. Correspondence for the review editor should be addressed to:

J. J. Butts
Department of English
Simpson College
Indianola, IA 50125

Submissions should run no more than 25 typed pages (6,000-9,000 words), double-spaced, including endnotes. MLA style is required. Authors should send a copy of their manuscript as a Word attachment with an electronic cover letter that describes the contents of the article. The referee process will be anonymous. Typically, authors will receive a first reader’s report within three months of submission. Authors whose work has been accepted for publication will be required to sign a consent form that guarantees the work has not yet and will not appear elsewhere. Authors are also responsible for obtaining any necessary permission letters for reprint authorization.

Editorial Board:

The journal’s editorial board consists of:

Name Affiliation
Erika Doss University of Notre Dame
Phyllis Lassner Northwestern University
Stan Smith Nottingham Trent University

Advisory Board

The journal’s advisory board consists of:

Name Affiliation
Marsha Bryant University of Florida
Claire Buck Wheaton College
Debra Rae Cohen University of South Carolina
Santanu Das King’s College London
Stella Deen State University of New York, New Paltz
Jonathan P. Eburne Penn State University
Brian Greenberg Monmouth University
Allan Hepburn McGill University
Elizabeth Maslen Institute of English Studies, University of London
Janet Montefiore University of Kent
Alexis Pogorelskin University of Minnesota, Duluth
Patrick Quinn University of Mississippi
Loretta Stec San Francisco State University
Janet Ward University of Oklahoma