

Each spring, the First-Year Composition Program awards two faculty-nominated students for writing outstanding essays in our First-Year course sequence.

Since 2018, these awards have been dedicated to the memory of Dr. David Tietge, our esteemed colleague and former Director of Writing. Dr. Tietge has been a great inspiration and help to both faculty and students, while setting our composition program on a path towards empowering student voices through writing.

On behalf of the First-Year Composition Committee, I am happy to announce this year's award recipients. Each student is receiving a University Store gift card, provided by First-Year Advising, whose generous support helps us to continue offering "The Dr. David Tietge Memorial First-Year Composition Essay Awards."

Joseph Torchia, M.A. Lecturer, Department of English