Main Menu

  • Board of Trustees

    The Monmouth University Board of Trustees is composed of 32 regular members (with vacancies occurring from time to time) who are elected to four-year terms and are divided into 4 class years. There are also seats for 15 life trustees as well as 2 ex-officio members. The By-Laws also provide for up to 10 Trustees Emeriti. The board operates within the conventional framework of higher education academic governance for independent institutions. Board members are concerned with higher education issues and share a specific and genuine involvement with Monmouth University. Indeed, Monmouth is fortunate that many of its trustees are alumni. In addition to a commitment of time and energy, they support the institution financially and advocate for Monmouth in the public arena.


    Henry D. Mercer, III '87, Chairman
    Jeana M. Piscatelli '01 '02, Vice Chair
    James S. Vaccaro, III, Treasurer
    Michael A. Plodwick '82, Secretary
    Jerome P. Amedeo '90
    Virginia S. Bauer
    Francis V. Bonello
    John A. Brockriede, Jr. '07 '10
    Paul R. Brown, Ph.D. (Ex Officio)
    Thomas D. Byer '67
    Quincy J. Byrdsong, Ed.D.
    John C. Conover, III
    Karyn F. Cusanelli '89 (Ex Officio)
    Marti S. Egger '81
    Marianne Hesse
    Kenneth W. Hitchner, III
    Frederick J. Kaeli, Jr. '61
    Nancy A. Leidersdorff '97
    Christopher Maher
    Erik Matson '88
    Lisa McKean
    Steven J. Pozycki '73
    Gary T. Puma '99
    David A. Reale '96
    Michael J. Renna
    Carol A. Stillwell
    Michelle Spicer Toto '94
    Webster B. Trammell, Jr., Psy.D., '70 '73


    Marcia Sue Clever, M.D.
    Paul W. Corliss
    Alan E. Davis
    Judith Ann Eisenberg
    Alfred L. Ferguson
    Harold L. Hodes '65
    John H. Kessler '69
    Robert E. McAllan '69
    William B. Roberts


    Paul S. Doherty Jr. '67
    Stephen M. Parks '68
    Charles T. Parton
    Jules L. Plangere Jr.
    Alfred J. Schiavetti Jr.
    Robert B. Sculthorpe '63


    Samuel H. Magill
    President Emeritus
    Rebecca Stafford
    President Emerita
    Paul G. Gaffney II
    President Emeritus